Glucose Test and Ultrasound

glucola

I was dreading my glucose test yesterday.  Last year when I was pregnant with Joshua, I failed the one hour glucose test.  I didn’t have much confidence for this year’s one hour test.  I made sure not to eat or drink anything for a good two hours before my test (even though my instructions only state one hour).  I arrived at my appointment early to make sure I could drink it before the ultrasound and appointment so I didn’t have to wait  the hour afterwards.

I gulped it down.  It’s not all that bad.  To me it tastes like extra sweet flat orange soda.  Not great, but not terrible.  The clock started.  I went into the ultrasound.  I didn’t think the test would effect the baby since I had literally drank the concoction right before going in, but the ultrasound tech said that the baby can get the sugars within 5 minutes of eating something.  That’s quick!

As usual, she was all wiggles during the ultrasound.  She was adorable!  Her little feet were crossed and we could even see how full her cheeks are getting.  To my amazement, the tech and I even saw her blink.  She passed her growth ultrasound with flying colors.  She’s measuring at about 1 lb 14 ounces and looks healthy!!  Mama is happy!

photo 1Here’s a picture of her profile.  Blurry, but still the most adorable thing I’ve seen!

After the ultrasound, I sat down and waited for my doctor’s appointment.  Almost immediately, the glucose timer went off.  The nurse grabbed me.  I rolled up my sleeves and prepared for the worst.  God, please, please have me pass this test!!  It felt like an eternity from the time she got my blood to when the results showed.  I needed 139 or lower.  I peered over the chair…138!  Really?  138, I passed!!  I almost started crying.  I gave the nurse a big hug and had a huge smile on my face the rest of the day!!

These last few weeks have been amazing!  With passing my blood clotting tests, the glucose test, and having our baby growing healthy and looking great on her ultrasounds, these last few weeks couldn’t get much better.  God is smiling down on us.  I believe that God has big plans for this little girl and right now, nothing can steal this joy!

One thought on “Glucose Test and Ultrasound

Leave a Reply

