Scary Day Yesterday

Yesterday was a weird day.  Everything was normal, ate my normal breakfast, went to work, then at about 10:30, my heart started beating out of my chest.  My heart was thumping so hard, not at a normal rhythm.  What felt like skipping beats.  Then I felt faint.  I called out for my coworker who sits across from me but he was so enthralled with work, he didn’t hear me.  Then, it was done.  My mind was going a million miles a minute.  I’m going to faint and fall out of my chair, the ambulance is going to come, I’m going to go to the hospital.  Then what?  Am I going to be okay?  Is the baby going to be okay?  

It happened and was over so quickly, maybe a total of 30 seconds, but I was shaken.  I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  I went home…yes, I drove.  I live close to where I work.  I can feel when I am about to faint and I would pull over if I felt it again.  I made sure to stay on the phone with my husband the whole way home.  He was working from home at the time, so I figured he could “watch” me the rest of the day.  If I was going to faint, I wanted to faint at home, with one person around than hundreds!  Then my husband told me he had to go into work, so I called my mom to babysit me the rest of the day.  She did, happily!

We went to my OB to make sure everything was okay.  The doctor said it was probably a one time thing and if it happens again, I should go see a cardiologist.  My blood pressure was good, my pulse was good, I was okay!  I felt silly going to the doctor for her to just say, “you’re fine”.  But I’m living life on the safe side.  The doctor said, “you just had an appointment a couple weeks ago, do you want to hear the heartbeat again?”  Um….is that even a question?  YES!  Absolutely.  I can’t wait another 2 weeks to make sure the baby is okay.  I need to know now!  We heard the heartbeat; she found it right away!!!  The doctor said the baby’s heart was beating at a normal rhythm and sounded great.  Little victories!!  This news made me so happy.

I went home and relaxed the rest of the day.  I took a nap, drank lots of water, and just did nothing.  It was great.  My mom was about to leave and as I was thanking her for staying with me, I told her how my heart really scared me.  She looked at me and said, “I know.  We just have to believe that everything is going to go well”.  I agree.  I need to trust that God will provide.

My husband came home and made me dinner.  He wouldn’t even let me think about helping with dinner.  Then at about 8:30, I started seeing a spot.  Almost like I had looked at a light too long.  I just tried to make sure not to look directly at a light and figured it’d go away.  It didn’t.  It got worse.  My whole right peripheral vision was blocked by a colorful strobe.  I couldn’t take it anymore.  I cried in frustration at my day and went upstairs to get ready for bed.  By 9:00, it stopped.  Thankfully!  I went to bed and prayed that today I would feel 100% and I wouldn’t have another “episode” like I did yesterday.

Today I’m feeling fine.  I’m praying my heart doesn’t race again.  I’m praying my vision isn’t impaired again.  I’m praying my baby will be born alive and we’ll be able to grow old together; healthy and happy!

2 thoughts on “Scary Day Yesterday

Leave a Reply

