God is in Control

As I stare at my computer background image, it’s hard to imagine that those perfect little feet are my little boy’s.  It’s hard to imagine that something so perfect could be gone.  And it’s even hard to imagine that he was once here.  It hasn’t been long – nearly 4 months.  But it seems a lifetime ago that I was pregnant and gave birth.  However, the pain is still very real.

I follow Joyce Meyer on Facebook and this little message popped up the other day.

God is in Control

How I needed this on that day, and how I need this today…and every day.

I struggle to know that God is with me.

I struggle to allow God to be in control of my life.

I know both of these statements are true, but in the midst of heartache or trials in your life, it can be hard to accept.  I even struggle with it as I write this post.

If God is with me, why can’t I feel Him?  If God is with me, why’d He take my baby?  If God is with me, why am I not pregnant yet (we’re trying for our second)?

If God is in control, why’d He do this to me?  If God’s in control, why didn’t He answer my prayers to revive my baby?  If God is in control, why won’t He make me pregnant again (now!)?

Those questions hit me frequently.  And as I proof-read what I just wrote, it’s eye opening – how selfish it sounds.  Life isn’t about me.  Life is about God and His will.  It’s my will to have my baby back, it’s my will to be pregnant again, but is that God’s will?  If it was, my baby would be here and we wouldn’t be trying to have another right now.  God is in control, not me.  Oh, it’s so hard to give up control.

6 thoughts on “God is in Control

  1. I constantly struggle with releasing control. I know that God is with me and he has so much good in store for the future, but the uncertainty of when and what will come next makes me anxious…..I’m praying for us both…

  2. If you are a Christian, here is a scripture that I hope gives you some comfort:
    Isaiah 57:1
    New Living Translation (NLT)
    “Good people pass away;
    the godly often die before their time.
    But no one seems to care or wonder why.
    No one seems to understand
    that God is protecting them from the evil to come.”

  3. Dear Ninemonthsoflove,

    First off let us say that mere words can’t describe the pain you’ve experienced. We know that you had many hopes and dreams for your child. But rest assured that where he is now far surpasses the hopes and dreams you had for him.

    We could not help but notice that you repeatedly used the words, “If God is in control…”. The only way we can truly know God’s will is to know His Word. And the only way we can truly know His Word is to know His Living Word. The Living Word has a name, and His name is JESUS. We can’t know the will of God without knowing the Living Word JESUS.

    This idea that God is in control is a “religious” idea. It is not backed up by the Words of JESUS. Here are just some of the religions that embrace this idea; Islam, Hinduism, Orthodox Judaism, Mormonism, and various pagan cultures such as Greco-Roman culture. It is NOT a New Testament Christian idea.

    How do we know this? We simply have to read what JESUS said in regards to prayer. In Matthew 6:9-10 and Luke 11:2-3 JESUS said this, “In this manner therefore pray, Our Father in heaven hallowed be Your name, Your kingdom come YOUR WILL BE DONE ON EARTH AS IT IS IN HEAVEN.” We are supposed to pray that God’s will is carried out on the earth. Apparently His will IS NOT being carried out on the earth. If it was, JESUS told us to do something that is useless. God’s will is NOT automatically carried out on earth. If it is then heaven is a carbon copy of earth. He did say to pray that God’s will to be carried out on earth as it is in heaven. So apparently if God’s will is automatically carried out on the earth, then in heaven they have war, sickness, famine, poverty, terror and death. Doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, does it?

    JESUS said this in John 10:10, “The THIEF does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy.” But He kept talking, “I have come that they may have LIFE and they may have it more abundantly”.

    In Matthew 6 and Luke 11 Jesus and Satan had a conversation. At one point, Satan showed JESUS all the kingdoms of this world in a moment of time. Satan then said, “All this I will give to you if you will fall down and worship me.” If God is truly in control then why didn’t JESUS say to Satan, “It’s not yours to give. It’s all under the control of God. He’s in control.”?

    On the night of His arrest in John 14:30 JESUS said this to His disciples, “I will no longer talk much with you, for THE RULER OF THIS WORLD is coming, and he has nothing in me.”

    2 Corinthians 4:3-4, “But even if our gospel is veiled (hidden), it is veiled to those who are perishing whose minds “the god of this age” has blinded.”

    Ephesians 6:10-12, “Finally my brethren be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole amour of God that you may be able to stand against the wiles (plans) of the devil. For we do not wrestle (fight) against flesh and blood but against principalities, against powers, against the “rulers of the darkness of this age”, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.”

    Again I want to say, that where your son is now (HEAVEN) in the presence of JESUS CHRIST and God the Father, far surpasses the hopes and dreams you had for him.

    There are two statements made by two different people. The one statement is, “God is in control.” This statement is made by Joyce Meyer and many other “religious leaders”. The other statement is, “I have come that you might have life and have it more abundantly.” This statement was made by JESUS CHRIST.

    Do not misunderstand us, Joyce has many excellent things to say. We have agreed with her on many occasions. This is just one we don’t believe is backed up by the Words of Jesus.

    With tears in our eyes, we truly hope and pray that these words will lift you up. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO LIVE IN FEAR OF WHAT MAY HAPPEN TO YOUR NEXT CHILD. Evil has always hated children. Isn’t it about time to stand up and declare, in no uncertain terms, IN THE NAME OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, YOU WILL NOT STOP THIS BABY FROM BEING BORN. THIS BABY WILL PROVE THAT HIS LIGHT IS GREATER THAN YOUR DARKNESS.

    We need to make the decision to take the words of Jesus over everybody else. We need to ask ourselves, “Who am I going to follow? Religious leaders or JESUS?”

    If you have any questions, please, please, please ask.

Leave a Reply

